Me Before You*Spoilers*

I just came home like 10 minutes ago. I went to watch Me Before You at the Cinema and for the entire drive back home I was feeling rather subdued. I didn’t cry when the movie ended. I did enough of that after I read the book late last year. I worried the tears will come on the drive back. Some did eventually, but I was thankfully filling up my car with petrol when that happened. I couldn’t stop thinking about Will Traynor and Lou. Would anyone in his position choose to live?

**Do stop reading now if you haven’t read the book or watched the movie. I don’t know how to write this without revealing the plot or the ending. You’ve been warned. SPOILERS AHEAD.**

Despite of everything that comes with quadriplegia. Would you do what Will did or would you continue on. Don’t think about morality or religion or anything political when you think about assisted suicide. Think about what you would want to do if you were in his place. I am not saying life is not worth living if you are disabled, we all know that’s not true. This story is more about having the choice to do what you want for yourself.

I can’t say that am ready to die. I know it’s not up to me and that I don’t have a say in the when or how, but I don’t think I’ve nearly scratched the surface when it comes to all that I want to, do, happen to me, or achieve in this life. So when someone like Will decides that he has already lived a great life, pre-accident, that the kind of life he lives as a disabled man will never be the life he wants, I don’t know, it just makes me sad. And there comes Lou, who has no idea what she wants to do and settles for anything that comes along, especially the most annoying Patrick. I don’t know when Will had decided to do this, but at some point, he made the choice to show Lou that there’s a world out there waiting for her to be conquered, no, lived. He believed in her. I don’t think anyone ever believed in her before.

It’s just a story, and these are all fake characters. I don’t even know how I picked up this book. I had it on my bookshelf for a while before I finally picked it up to read it. Falling in love with characters and overthinking the plot of a book is just one of my favorite things to do. I have characters that live in my mind, waiting to be released. When I see someone like Lou and Will, and how they changed each other and gave one another their lives back, I can’t but think about my life and where I am in it.

I want to create something that makes someone feel exactly like I am feeling right now. Writing is a gift. Every book that sits in my humble library is a gift. I want to contribute and give you a story. I just hope that I have enough time left in this life to do just that. And, all the other things I am dying, to do.

“Live boldly. Push yourself. Don’t settle.” – Will Traynor

Share your thoughts

