The Writing Process – Nanowrimo?

I’ve been writing since I was a kid. It’s a natural thing for me. Something that I do because that’s how my brain works. If I ever needed to work something out or was stressed out, writing about it would give me some kind of a resolution. I didn’t exactly keep a journal, but I’ve written about the best and worst experiences of my 29 years.

I write when I need to and words find their place on blank pages. I remember not putting much effort into college assignments as well, always leaving everything till the last minute. It didn’t bother me, I still got A’s and B’s.

When I decided that I wanted to pursue a career in writing, I didn’t think it would be this hard. Don’t get me wrong, I knew it would be difficult, but not impossible. I am a procrastinator and I’ve convinced myself that I have ADHD. I’ve been trying to write this for the past few hours. I am sure I will finish it in a couple of hours.

I keep getting distracted by the internet. There’s an episode from Mike and Molly where Molly is working on her book, and she’s doing everything BUT writing, and her mom and sister walk in, they ask her what she’s doing, and to that, she answers, I am writing. The scene was on youtube but it’s not there anymore. I hunted down the episode to watch it again – putting off writing this post by the way – and it’s just as funny as the first time I watched it. I then got on tumblr to find the gif-set from the episode, because I wanted to share it here with you. Sadly, I couldn’t find it anywhere. The next logical step was to make it myself, but since I didn’t want to waste time – ironic, I know – I figured I’ll just find the screen caps from the show and add captions to it and voilà. done. I spent the next couple of hours finding the screen caps, writing the script from the show for the captions, downloading photoshop to put it all together and finally posting it on tumblr. I just created my first ever tv-show edit. Check it out.
Screen Shot 2015-10-19 at 2.37.02 AM

If that doesn’t depict the writing process, then I don’t know what does. It’s spot on and it’s exactly how I get every time I start writing.

To make matters worse, I seem to be developing new bad habits. I spend most of my time in front of the computer. During which, I watch shows, browse or work (writing, drawing, research). As soon as I start “working”, my eyes start to feel heavy. I know that I am not sleepy, I get enough sleep as it is. It’s like my brain is fighting me. This is new, so I haven’t figured out a way to fix it. Yet another thing to procrastinate doing.

So to recap, I am participating in NANOWRIMO and I am a procrastinator.

Here’s a video from another episode of Mike and Molly, I just love how they portray the writing process on the show.

PS: I started writing this post at 4 PM, I finished it at 2:45 AM the next day. God help me!!!!

Share your thoughts

